Install flash player 10 RC on Ubuntu

THIS POST IS OUTDATED, click here.

The first release candidate for flash player 10 is out.

Unlike the previous beta and flash player 9, this one actually performs pretty good.

Fullscreen playback isn’t choppy anymore for me.

Is Adobe finally listening to some of it’s userbase?

updated 15/09/08

Before you install it, make sure to remove the libflashplayer.so file from /home/username/.mozilla/plugins

And if you installed flash player from synaptic, you are going to have to remove it also.

Run this code in a terminal to do so.

sudo apt-get remove libflash-mozplugin libflashsupport flashplugin-nonfree

The RC needed a quick hack to work on my machine (I thank user mccord and wroobel on the ubuntuforums for this one). I don’t believe it is necessary for everyone, but this command did the trick.

(copy/paste one line at the time in the terminal)

sudo ln -s /usr/lib/libssl3.so.1d /usr/lib/libssl3.so
sudo ln -s /usr/lib/libnss3.so.1d /usr/lib/libnss3.so
sudo ln -s /usr/lib/libnspr4.so.0d /usr/lib/libnspr4.so
sudo ln -s /usr/lib/libsmime3.so.1d /usr/lib/libsmime3.so
sudo ln -s /usr/lib/libplds4.so.0d /usr/lib/libplds4.so
sudo ln -s /usr/lib/libplc4.so.0d /usr/lib/libplc4.so

Now for installation, one command should take care of the download and install of the player.

(close firefox before using the command)

cd /tmp
wget http://download.macromedia.com/pub/labs/flashplayer10/flashplayer10_install_linux_091508.tar.gz
tar -zxvf flashplayer10_install_linux_091508.tar.gz
cd install_flash_player_10_linux
./flashplayer-installer

Please note that this isn’t a final release.

However I haven’t had any crashes yet and the performance is much better.

64-bit instructions in comments.

    • didiprasetyo
    • August 13th, 2008

    thx a lot 4 recommend

    • kaber
    • August 13th, 2008

    very useful..

    i was searching for something else actually.. but good work..

    http://www.kaber.wordpress.com

  1. Are you able to upgrade for the final release if installing this RC?

  2. How do I test it to be sure it works?

    Am I supposed to do anything with this 3D demo?
    http://labs.adobe.com/technologies/flashplayer10/demos/

    I just see a picture I can’t do anything with.

    • informedeldercare
    • August 13th, 2008

    does this work in wordpress.com?

    • Nahkha
    • August 13th, 2008

    Thanks for this terrific solution. I was having the same issue with symbolic linking the libssl3, libnss3, and libnspr4.

    Would the last one line install work better if you added && after each command?

    cd /tmp &&
    wget http://download.macromedia.com/pub/labs/flashplayer10/flashplayer10_install_linux_081108.tar.gz &&
    tar -zxvf flashplayer10_install_linux_081108.tar.gz && cd install_flash_player_10_linux && ./flashplayer-installer

  3. @ wizko:

    You won’t be able to upgrade if you use this RC.

    You are going to have to remove it and install the final version the same way you installed this one.

    I haven’t had much luck with their demo also, but it is flash player 10rc you are using.

    Right-click a flash app and it should say flash player 10.

    And you should notice that your flash videos are running much better in fullscreen mode.

    @ informedeldercare

    I have no idea what you are talking about.

    @ Nahkha

    Yes, then you wouldn’t have to press enter after a command is finished.

  4. Ok. Fine. Would you bother making a new guide when the final version is out? Then I’m sure I’m upgrading correctly from RC to Final 🙂

  5. 🙂

    Sure.

  6. Thanks for this article!

    The flash-installer didn’t work for me (it refused the mozilla path I was giving it in the interactive installation process), but the plugin is working now on my UbuntuStudio Hardy – after I copied by hand libflashplayer.so into /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins AND I made the three symlinks you mentioned.

    • Sealbhach
    • August 17th, 2008

    Hi, I got this objection from the Flash Installer:

    ERROR: Your architecture, \’x86_64\’, is not supported by the
    Adobe Flash Player installer.

    I looked on the site and there’s only one version ???

  7. @ Sealbhach,

    Could be. I don’t use 64bit so I’m not really informed on that end.

    But if they aren’t offering, I guess you’re out of luck.

    • jdb
    • August 20th, 2008

    thanks for the tutorial. While performance is better, I’m seeing many pages with flash components that do not work.

    could you please enumerate the steps to remove this version? I think I will be going back to 9 until it goes final.

    thanks

    • linuxowns
    • August 20th, 2008

    @jbd:

    I’m sorry you’re having problems. Not happening here.

    To remove flash player 10, go to /home/username/.mozilla/plugins and remove libflashplayer.so

    Then simply install flash player 9 from the repository.

    sudo apt-get install flashplugin-nonfree

    That should do it.

  8. Adobe can’t be listening that much, there’s still no 64 bit builds 😦

    In other news: Added to my blogroll 🙂

    • linuxowns
    • August 25th, 2008

    🙂

    • Beppler
    • August 25th, 2008

    Thank you very much man. It’s the unique solution works for me.

    • nick
    • September 4th, 2008

    i love you.

    ahhhhhh….reliefffffff :] @_@

    • linuxowns
    • September 4th, 2008

    Thanks, I guess …

    lol

  9. For Ubuntu 64 bit users there is a 2 click installer for the latest Flash 10 RC at http://www.queleimporta.com/how-to-install-flash-10-rc-on-ubuntu-64-bits-with-2-clicks/en/

    • linuxowns
    • September 8th, 2008

    Thanks for the tip. I mentioned it in the article.

    • Michael
    • September 16th, 2008

    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=795019&page=14#post5798726

    For those of you who were able to get the first RC to work but are now having trouble with the second, you may need three further symlinks to get the new RC (the one released 15th September) to work properly. Details can be found at the link above.

    • linuxowns
    • September 17th, 2008

    Thanks Micheal.

    I didn’t had to use them, but added them to the article anyway.

    • jarav
    • September 19th, 2008

    The player area is blank in ff 3.0.1 and Epiphany for remote swfs. On right-click I get the message ‘Movie not loaded’. The same swfs if loaded locally work fine. Is this some new security issue?
    No problem, however, with opera 9.51 and Konqueror with the new version.
    any suggestions?
    Thanks.

    • linuxowns
    • September 19th, 2008

    Nope.

    Remove it and install the version that worked.

  10. Thanks again. Great solution.

    • kaber
    • September 27th, 2008

    goooood

    • dan
    • October 7th, 2008

    This fixed my choppy video perfectly, but it took my sound away.

    I reinstalled libflashsupport which seems to have fixed it.

    • parabellum
    • October 8th, 2008

    Hey.

    I followed this guide (8.04lts, sony vaio with Nvidia 5700 series card) and it has finally made HULU and other flash streaming a tolerable experience. Thank you for writing this!!!!

    The only downside: Using this version breaks the file uploaders for photobucket, myspace, and a handful of other popular sites that use heavy java/flash on their page.

    I found a workaround: Use NoScript with FF3 to forbid photobucket…that prompts PB to ask you if you want to use the old uploader, which still works.

    The other solution would be to switch from flash 9 to this version of 10RC when you want to watch streaming video (ala hulu.com) and then just switch back. I find the process to take a whopping 1 minute.

    Anyway, thank you, and I hope the tips in this post help anyone else who wants flash to work properly, but doesn’t want to sacrifice other web functionality.

    -parabellum

    • krickdaddy
    • October 21st, 2008

    Hey thanks a lot. I’ve installed and uninstalled all kinds of open source and flash plugins with no avail. Even installing from the flash 10 package didn’t work, but this one worked right off the bat!

    • linuxowns
    • October 22nd, 2008

    No problem.

  11. Thanks man!

    • Jimbo
    • December 4th, 2008

    Flash was never great performance in full screen. After upgrading to 8.10 flash was dire…. however your guide has made flash run smoother than ever for me… esp on my Dell Mini 9. Thanks for taking the time to blog your solution 🙂

    • dan
    • December 19th, 2008

    Worked for me too. Thanks a lot.

    I’d like to know the purpose for
    -all of those symbolic links that you put in before the installation
    -the reason for the deletion of the libflash.so
    -what is the xpti.dat, and why does the installer want it gone?

    If anybody has a minute to give a quick explanation of those things I’d love it. I’d really like to understand why this solution worked. This has been a problem for so long…

    thanks again for the fix.

    • Bill Goldberg
    • December 20th, 2008

    @ Dan

    I presume the flash installer was looking for files that had another name on Ubuntu.

    Libflashplayer.so is the flash player plugin for mozilla.

    If you want to use the new flashplayer, you’ll need to remove the old one.

    I don’t know what xpti.dat is.

  1. August 19th, 2008
    Trackback from : flash player
  2. September 11th, 2008
    Trackback from : New to Ubuntu? « Linux Owns
  3. September 15th, 2008

Leave a comment