Flash player 10 final

After a long beta period Flash player 10 finally hit it’s final version.

And this time the folks at Adobe were so kind to make a .deb file for Ubuntu.

Great.

Download the .deb here.

Before installing it, run this command in a terminal (applications -> accessories -> terminal)

sudo apt-get remove libflash-mozplugin libflashsupport flashplugin-nonfree

Remove the libflashplayer.so file in /home/username/.mozilla/plugin.

Now double click the .deb file to install Flash player 10.

Flash player 10 is in the Ubuntu 8.10 repo’s now. Together with the better ATI drivers the performance is impeccable for me now.

    • Interpreter
    • October 15th, 2008

    .deb file down atm?

    • eli
    • October 23rd, 2008

    This is awesome, works great. Thanks for the tip Bill!

    • Michael
    • October 28th, 2008

    I still had to make the symlinks (as per the instructions for the release candidates: https://linuxowns.wordpress.com/2008/08/12/install-flash-player-10-rc-on-ubuntu/) to get this to work (on Linux Mint Elyssa).

    • linuxowns
    • October 28th, 2008

    Could be a Mint only thing, I haven’t heard of this problem with the final on Ubuntu.

    Anyhow, glad you got it working.

  1. MERCI

    • Bill Goldberg
    • December 20th, 2008

    De rien.

    • davide
    • May 26th, 2009

    When i double click on the .deb the result is:
    Error: wrong architecture ‘i386’
    What’s happened?

  2. When I originally left a comment I appear to have clicked the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and now whenever a comment is added I recieve 4 emails with the exact same comment. Is there a way you can remove me from that service? Kudos!

  3. I really had to discuss this article, “Flash player 10 final | Linux Owns” together
    with my own pals on facebook. I reallyjust simply wished to disperse your very good publishing!
    With thanks, Bruce

  1. October 19th, 2008
  2. October 20th, 2008

Leave a comment