Make a video slide show in ubuntu

I was browing songs on youtube and noticed one of my all time favorites wasn’t posted yet.

So I started looking online on how to make a video slideshow, and  it kind of surprised me that I didn’t find any easy ways of doing this.

I looked in add/remove and the first program I tried did the trick.

The program is called “open movie editor”.

It’s no looker but it does the job and is very easy to use.

If you click on the screenshot, you’ll see that there is an “media browser” tab.

From there you can navigate to the folder on your hdd and you can drag pictures in the “video” bar in the bottom and audio files to the “audio” bar.

Then you go to “project -> render” and select a format to save as. I had some problems choosing another codec besides the quicktime codec.

I easily converted it to mp4 with pytube media converter.

I uploaded the video (with my dubious music taste) to youtube. I only used one picture out of sheer laziness to hunt down relevant pictures.

For the ones interested, you can find it here.

  1. Hi, I have tried open movie editor and found it a bit difficult to work with. Far easier is ManSlide (though it has a tendency to crash …)

    I wish there would be anlinux version of soundslides (www.soundslides.com)

    • linuxowns
    • May 31st, 2008

    Hi Daniel, I know about ManSlide and it is easier to use.

    The problems I had with it were that it was kde based (I use gnome) and that for some reason it wouldn’t produce the video.

    But if you get it working, ManSlide is the better choice.

    • Crystal
    • October 23rd, 2008

    I have gnome, Ubuntu. I Downloaded it but cannot get it working

    • Crystal
    • October 23rd, 2008

    I have Ubuntu, gnome and i downloaded but it don’t work!

    • linuxowns
    • October 24th, 2008

    Ask in the Ubuntu forums, you’ll get better support there.

  2. Thanks for your great tutorial, it worked perfectly for me, but one suggestion is close anything using your sound card (like firefox) before rendering, at first it was not working right but after I closed firefox I was able to render properly. Now to convert…

    • Pierre
    • April 17th, 2009

    The endless struggle to find a slideshow video maker for linux (using Kubuntu 8.10). continues

    One day we will have a slideshow creator on linux that

    a) works
    b) puts out 16:9 aspect video
    c) exports to a range of formats
    d) has the ability to automatically synchronize slides duration with the sound track duration

    In the meantime, I’m back to windows

    Cheers

  3. I installed “open movie editor” and managed to drop a few images onto a video track but it refused to run any sort of playback. It sucked so hard I gave up.

  4. Hi,

    I’m working on a free alternative to soundSlides, check it on my site.

    It’s built on Adobe Air and it’s been tested on Ubuntu 9.04.

    Check it out!

  5. Ah, since I cannot post links, you should click on my name in these comments!

  6. Maybe you can give PhotoFilmStrip a try. (http://www.photofilmstrip.org)

  7. Question: Were you able to preview the video or did you have to “render” it to see the video in action?

  8. I agree finding a good version for linux with the ease of use of windows is hard so the search continues….

    • Les
    • August 23rd, 2010

    I use this program called MainActor. It produces a slide show in Linux just fine for me. The final video might be a little large in size but still usable, nonetheless.

    • Pravin Patil
    • October 1st, 2010

    Hello Sir,

    I Installed “openmovieeditor”. This Software installed successfully
    it worked perfectly………..
    Thank u So Much………

    Regard
    Pravin Patil
    INDIA

    • Peter
    • December 7th, 2010

    I was wondering if there was a way to make a picture slideshow video. Is this possibly on this program?

  9. How to make video in Ubuntu using snapshots or images
    ?

  10. Thanks for posting this. I actually ended up using pitivi since that came stock with Ubuntu. Works pretty well.

  11. Wow, superb blog format! How lengthy have you ever been running a blog for? you made running a blog glance easy. The overall look of your web site is wonderful, let alone the content!

  1. May 17th, 2008
    Trackback from : how to save youtube files
  2. February 10th, 2011
  3. July 30th, 2014
    Trackback from : castleville legends android

Leave a comment