Install the linux mint menu in ubuntu hardy

Some people don’t like the gnome menu Ubuntu uses.

Ubuntu wouldn’t be linux if there weren’t a million and one other menus out there.

One of the better ones is USP (ubuntu system panel).

It’s the same kind of panel linux mint uses.

Installation notes (some copy paste work) are found here.

(bad quality picture because of crop down, click for better quality)

I was temped to replace the gnome menu with this one but I’m living together with my brother and he would panic if he saw something new.

But I definitely suggest you try this one, after all it’s just a applet (meaning it’s easy to revert back to the standard menu).

    • ubuntunigeria
    • June 21st, 2008

    can u give me tips on how u were able to get ur system menu to look like the screenshot am working on making a custiom desktop for the computers in the university where i work .. i would like to use the system menu

  1. Sure, I’ll switch to my main desktop, get back to you in a few minutes.

    • David Wang
    • August 9th, 2008

    To be honest i didn’t really like this one

    • Ubuntububu
    • June 30th, 2009

    I know this topic is really old, but the gnome menue still sucks and mint menu owns. USP looks like shit, if you want the mint menu, just install it from the mint repos http://packages.linuxmint.com/, works 100% with ubuntu, you can change the logo etc. in the preferences.
    I hope someone includes this in gnome/ ubuntu/ debian repostiories, it’s really great.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment