Remove trash in Ubuntu

So you have a file in your Trash and you can’t remove it no matter how many times you tried?

The solution is simple!

Press “alt+f2” and enter

gksu nautilus

Navigate to “/home/yourusername/.local/share/Trash” and delete the contents of both folders.

    • Anxious Nut
    • March 5th, 2009

    Thanks for this🙂 I had this problem before!! I hope next time it happens to me i remember this!

  1. Couldn’t get it to work. It said contents couldn’t be displayed. I can see contents going the usual route. It’s a shame, because I’ve got a folder in there that I’ve wanted to delete for weeks.

    • linuxowns
    • March 5th, 2009

    @ Adam,

    Do you mean that folder is empty when you use Nautilus in root mode?

  2. I’m at work on a mac now, so I can’t read the pop-up to you, but when I attempted to view the trash folder via Nautilus it said contents couldn’t be displayed. Maybe I can get a screenshot later.

    • NickF
    • March 6th, 2009

    There is no need to be root to empty the trash. Just go that folder from home (you need to enable hidden folders using CTRL+H) and erase the content.

    • linuxowns
    • March 6th, 2009

    @ NickF:

    This little “trick” is needed when you can’t remove some items from the trash.

    Some times that can happen and then your only choice is to go root and delete them.

    • linuxowns
    • March 6th, 2009

    @ Adam G:

    I don’t know why that wouldn’t work but you could try a terminal command that does the same:

    sudo rm -rf ~/.local/share/Trash

    Does this work?

    • ImNotBlue
    • April 24th, 2009

    Thank you, “linuxowns”

    I used your instructions for “Adam G” and it worked perfectly. The other stuff didn’t seem to work at all… but your reply did the trick. Thanks!

  3. linuxowns,

    I would have forgotten about this entirely if ImNotBlue hadn’t commented. I just now tried that in the terminal, and it worked like a charm. Making a note of it now….

    • Bryan Mendoza
    • April 5th, 2010

    This was very helpful and straightforward, was able to remove the annoying folders and files that seem to replicate themselves when emptying it from the buttom panel

    Big Thanks!

    Brye

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

