Windows 7, the Linux killer?

On many tech blogs/sites I have read a lot about Windows 7 and a lot of articles say the new OS from Redmond could be claim back some Linux converts.

I have been forcing myself to use Windows 7 now for a few weeks. I started with the prebeta and now I’m on the beta.

I think it’s a good idea to first sum up some of the strong points about Windows 7.

  • It installs twice as fast as Vista.
  • It’s blazing fast when compared to Vista.
  • It looks better (superbar and more eyecandy).
  • Due to the search boxes everywhere, it’s easy to find stuff.
  • UAC has been improved.

That question is: “Will this be enough to lure Linux users back to Windows?

I am sure that some Ubuntu users will switch back.

A lot of Ubuntu users switched to Ubuntu because they had problems with Vista.

The rest of us, who use Linux because of the level of control, the security, the flexibility won’t change back, not in a thousand years.

So while some users might switch back, Windows 7 will certainly not be the death of Linux.

  1. What OS do you think looks most beautiful? I know that you can change a lot of things, especially in Linux, but which one provides the most eye-catching stuff?

    • s
    • January 15th, 2009

    Ubuntu = great potential, default look is very ugly

    windows = default look is not especially beautiful but it’s not that ugly either, further potential almost zero.

    • tellos
    • January 15th, 2009

    There is no way I would change back to windows.

    And that story about linux being dead. lol.

  2. It’s true that some people switched to Ubuntu because Vista sucked, but I don’t think all of those people will switch back. Although I had used Linux fairly extensively before, when I saw the hardware requirements for Vista I was appalled and switched to Ubuntu. Now I don’t think I’d go back, even if Windows 7 is better than Vista.

    • Cineaste
    • January 16th, 2009

    I switched from windows to Ubuntu recently because I can’t afford a new OS, CPU, MB, etc. every 3 years. Thanks to sites like this one that helped me get started, I’ve become a permanent convert to Linux.

    • Bill Goldberg
    • January 16th, 2009

    @ Wizko:

    It’s hard to say.

    When compared to Ubuntu’s default look, Windows 7 is the clear winner.

    But we all know, you can change the looks.

    I think my Gnome setup looks nice than Win 7.

    Then only eyecandy worth mentioning that’s new to Win7 is the superbar, or however they call it.

    It’s pretty nice looking and comes in handy because of Windows lack of multiple desktops.

    • Arsham Shirvani
    • January 16th, 2009

    Hi,
    Are you comparing “the future” Windows with “the current” linux distros?
    You should travel linux in the future too.
    Tell people about the timeline these two OSs got passed along each other.
    Would you please compare “Current Stable Compiz” with “Current Stable Windows” out there?
    I suppose you could compare “Virus” status in current and future of both OSs.

    Good luck,
    Arsham

    • linuxowns
    • January 16th, 2009

    Windows 7 won’t change much more, mostly bugfixes. Linux will change a lot.

    I’ll be comparing Ubuntu 9.10 with Windows 7 when it comes out.

    No point in doing it now.

    • heomoi
    • January 19th, 2009

    There’s no reason for me to switch back to Windows

    • ebetbew
    • January 20th, 2009

    tbewebewtb

    • ebetbew
    • January 20th, 2009

    BETTER TO WORK WITH GAMEBOY

  3. Windows needs to catch up on Linux if they want the latter dead. Right now, it’s just wishful thinking.

  4. I switched to Ubuntu from Windows XP. I didn’t have problems just curious. After having a dual boot I started using Ubuntu more. One day I wiped out XP and never looked back. With a virtual Desktop I play and I play. Lately with OpenGEU 8.04. So they fix Vista bout time. It’s all hype because they are worried. Linux your day is coming. One day grandma will know Open Source and Ubuntu.

  5. Linux can’t be killed as it was never truly alive, whereas Windows developement depends on the suckers who buy it. Linux is immortal, it
    exists in a different plane than Windows. People’ll use it for the same reasons no matter what crap Microsoft throws at it.
    Now don’t get me wrong, I mostly use Windows XP, but I don’t know how much I’ll count on future Microsoft releases. I might pass Windows 7 just as I did with Vista.

    • Richard
    • January 30th, 2009

    I switched from XP with the impending cost of an upgrade to Vista. To say the least I am not leaving the Linux World for Windows 7, for one why would I pay for a full version of Win 7 when I have better already. My Desktop already looks better than Win 7 and Linux is constantly improving and does everything I need why change back. On Windows I have already started the migration to open source with Firefox and Openoffice anyway.

    This whole argument of Win7 being a Linux killer is just crap, when people factor in the cost of upgrading or purchasing the OS will they do it….I think most will not. The Windows Fans will as they would upgrade to anything Windows.

  6. Why compare 2 totally different OSs.
    I use windows for music making as I have a lot of money invested in hosts and music software.
    Linux is still far behind in this field but not for long.
    For everything not related to music making Linux wins hands down.

    • DonaldJ
    • February 1st, 2009

    “Windows-7 killing Linux”, is a Joke!.. That would be like the stench of a campground latrine killing the nearby trees and fauna…

    I wonders if trees and weeds bend-away from human-latrines..?
    probably…

    I’ve had Enough of windows bullying… I wouldn’t go back down to windows even if they paid me ten-grand, and offered to do wondrous vile-things to my senses and special-parts……

    • Anxious Nut
    • February 1st, 2009

    You know,… Your theory about returning to windows is 100% right. I have two brothers, they had a lot of problems with windows, so they switched to ubuntu, but now, after seeing Windows7 they are returning back to windows. the second switched back, but the first is like I don’t know should I? … well, you know,… M$ really did something this time…

    But about me,… FORGET IT! I HATE LOSEDOWS, ‘m stikin’ with ubuntu,…

    lol, My old brother switched to Arch before a week, every day he comes complaining to me. today he said that he’ll return to ubuntu but after a while he changed his mind!!

  7. Definitely not. Windows can’t kill Linux, Linux can’t kill Windows either. The competition forces both the open source community and Micro$oft to improve their operating systems. That’s the point.

    The reason I choose Linux is because of it’s freedom, open, robustness, security as well as full control of the system. (Rolling update). (OS X as well, but it’s commercial UNIX/BSD).

    I do use Windows for game and some other stuff at home. Windows 7 is worth to upgrade from Windows XP. Maybe 10% of my time on Computer.

  8. Well Windows will be windows…. I will stay with Linux

    • jalal_Rifae
    • March 1st, 2009

    I am still new to Ubuntu, but really it gives you the challenge to discover yourself. The simplicity of Windows is coming from years of work, but I believe that Open Sources will win at the end.
    I can not say I will not try Win7, but I will use it to see the differences. Fans on Ubuntu Community will definitely come up with much more tools and facilities to counter back Win7.

    Days are coming and new release of Ubuntu 9.04 on the way.

    • DIRT!!!
    • March 20th, 2009

    I like Ubuntu for every day activities. Windows gets in my face too much, it get really annoying. People with XP have got to be getting tired of those stupid balloons popping up out of your task bar, wondering why O why isn’t there an option to turn off the annoying stuff?!?
    But Windows has the GAMES, sure there is some cool game companies that don’t play by M$ rules by accepting their bribes to uses DX only. But Linux in general (and MAC) lags way behind in the gaming department. If you get the gamer you get the whole family using windows. Linux is doing a lot better in this department. I have a lan party box running Linux, It can run a lot of popular games, windows games too, but its still not up to speed when it comes to the newest releases.

    • 2persons
    • April 25th, 2009

    I’m with you, “the level of control, the security, the flexibility” so me? no, I won’t change back, “not in a thousand years.”
    I thought intrepid was the best of the OS’s but jaunty’s even better!
    Celebrating THREE YEARS M$ (windows) FREE!!!
    (In a world without walls and fences, who needs Windows and Gates …”)

  9. I would never switch back to Windows. And I have tried Windows 7, and have to admit I was impressed. But here is the clincher – Ubuntu and my own Puppy Linux remix both detect my wifi card in my main laptop. Windows 7 doesn’t. I *could* install drivers for a USB wifi adaptor, and I do need to use said adaptor under Linux – but Linux is faster, more secure, and has fewer viruses. Plus I can develop my own Linux, can’t do that with Windows. Why would I want to switch back?

  10. Just deleted windows 7 off my computer, Installed Ubuntu 12.04 Server. NOT LOOKING BACK!!!

Leave a Reply

