I finally moved to Arch

I have been bored with Ubuntu since Hardy.

A  lot of people were claiming Arch Linux was THE distro for people wanting more control and speed.

I had nothing to do yesterday so I downloaded the iso (around 300mb) and installed it.

If you are new to Linux and are using Ubuntu, stay with it.

Arch linux isn’t user friendly in the meaning of ease of setting up and tweaking.

It is a user friendly distro in the way you can control it.

If you want to give it a try, read the beginners guide first on the Arch Wiki.

Seriously, read it before you try to install.

I know most of the readers here are Ubuntu users so I’ll keep writing how-to’s for Ubuntu.

I do not plan on writing stuff for Arch.

  1. Welcome🙂

    • ptwnblzr
    • December 10th, 2008

    ugh, yet another package management system

    For the pain and suffering in doing simple updates you might as well use truly lightweight, secure, and fast FreeBSD system.

    P.S. I eat my own poo

  2. Interesting how this seems to be happening. I just installed from the ftp image last week. I hadn’t tried Arch with Gnome, so that;’s what I was going for. The KDEMod is sweet, for KDE (not nearly as busy as you’d expect), but LXDE and Fluxbox are screaming fast on Arch.

    • s
    • December 10th, 2008

    do you think the advantages are worth it? is it really so much faster and controllable?
    i once tried to install arch in a virtualbox too see how it worked. everything went fine except for the internet connection😦 i am on a heavily restricted campus network and you can only login if you use the university’s GUI. but i needed a working internet connection to install a DE so I was stuck.

    • Bill Goldberg
    • December 10th, 2008

    @ s:

    Sure, Arch is a faster than Ubuntu and pacman is just great.

    But if you can’t get the internet working, well then it’s a no-go.

    • henrypootel
    • December 10th, 2008

    i’m a recent immigrant to Arch from Ubuntu too. Installed it on my eee-701 and it boots to the desktop in just under 15 seconds!

    • Chris Henn
    • December 11th, 2008

    Good for you. I hope to do this sometime on my extra hard drive space and try it out. Hopefully I’ll learn a lot.

    Im getting bored with Ubuntu, and I love tweaking things.

  3. Ha, I heard Arch is really fast. Just don’t have time to test it. Does it offer good support for laptop hardware like D620? Currently I stay with Ubuntu coz it offers the best hardware support at this stage. Even better than Fedora.

    For best performance, I guess Gentoo would be even faster than Arch, but the package management for Gentoo is a pain and hell…

    Someone mentioned FreeBSD, it’s fast, stable, but poor commercial software support and hardware support. Not fit for Desktop anyway…

    • SqdnGuns
    • December 21st, 2008

    Congrats on the migration from Ubombtu!!

    I played with Arch a bit, it was nice and speedy but am back to Slackware., my preferred Distro.

  4. Good migration. I think Arch is the Gentoo of workstations. Full control and speed but no waiting for programs to compile.
    Arch is not perfect, but I certainly believe its one of the best distros out there. I’ll blog soon about what arch is missing.

  5. Sure arch is fast. But I still prefer ubuntu. Out of the box performance, vast repositories, great community, commercial support etc. make it the the distro of choice for the masses.
    Arch is only for geeks who just can’t sit still with one OS. Yeah! arch will sure give something to waste your time on😀.

  6. After reading all these, I’m adding Arch on my list of possible OSes that I’d be installing on my test box. The question is, when will I do it? hehe…

    • linuxowns
    • January 15th, 2009

    @ Abhishek

    I agree that Ubuntu is most likely the best choice for people new to Linux.

    However, if you have been using Linux for a while you want even more control.

    An example of this is the BSD like init system Arch uses.

  7. @linuxowns

    I humbly beg to differ on this point.
    Most of the people just want there distro to work for them. I used arch only because I was gettting bored during the vacations. I again emphasize arch is only for geeks who always want there minds to be engrossed in something new.
    The point regarding “even more control”: well you can get the same amount of control on ubuntu as you get on Arch. But the wonderful thing about ubuntu is the that it does not force that control upon you from the very beginning of installation like arch. I think you will agree with me that both arch and ubuntu being GNU/linux distro give the same amount of control to their users but in different way- arch calls it “The Arch Way” while ubuntu uses the term “Linux for Human Beings”. All the same.

    Lastly, I find ubuntu’s sysV init system to be better then the BSD one. This is the system that gives you “even more control” over your runlevels. Sure it is complicated, but we use computers to do the complicated stuff for us. There are programs available that make managing init scripts in ubuntu easier than editing the /etc/rc.conf in Arch. sysv-rc-conf and bum are the ones in my knowledge.
    Ubuntu uses the sysV style init system which

  8. Good article, learning, collectors!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

