Zattoo

I’ve just done a post about livestation, when I stumbled across another tv viewing app for linux (and osx and windows) called Zattoo.

They offer a .deb package that works on Ubuntu, so installation is easy as pie.

I think they have a better collection of tv channels.

For instance, me being Belgian, I find it great that they have VT4. A commercial station that broadcasts shows like friends, dexter, lost, heroes, according to jim, … and movies.

They all have the original English audio so anyone can watch them (they do have dutch subs).

Some other channels include a poker channel, a motor sport channel, …

A full list of channels is available on their website.

Again, just as with livestation, the app is glitchy when using compiz fusion.

Install the Compiz Fusion Icon from the repos to switch to Metacity before using it.

On most channels playback is good, there are however some that are a bit shocky.

Some screenshots:

  1. I like Zattoo but a month ago I received an e-mail about their Danish broadcasting. Since they pay a lot of special taxes, you now have to pay to see programs from Denmark:\

  2. Awe man!

    I just went to the website but can’t download the player because I live in the United States. It asked me to enter my email for the waiting list.

    Hope we get access soon.

    Mr. Echo

    • linuxowns
    • September 26th, 2008

    I didn’t realize that.

    Oh well, you guys have hulu.com to keep you busy.
    🙂🙂

  3. You can only view your country’s listed channels with Zattoo. Here in Norway we only have NRK1, NRK2as Norwegian channels, and some foreign channels thrown in the list.

    Currently 8 (Al Jazeera English, Automoto TV, Bloomberg, Deutsche Welle, France 24 [en], LUXE.TV, Sumo.TV and The Poker Channel)

    • Vadi
    • October 3rd, 2008

    Nothing for Canada yet either.

    • linuxowns
    • October 3rd, 2008

    @Kimme

    That might only be half-true.

    I know for sure we don’t have half those channels here listed on Zattoo.

    • Conrad
    • November 12th, 2008

    Zattoo tv was working great for me in Hardy, but since upgrading to Intrepid Ibex i’ve lost audio. I’ve emailed them but they’ve not responded. Ubuntu 8.10 has been out for a while now, so it is a shame they haven’t released a more current .deb that works in Intrepid Ibex; especially, seeing as they say that they support Ubuntu. Any news on this issue would be welcome as zattoo tv has become my only source for tv enter/info tainment.
    In windows land there are many more options it seems for ‘sattelite tv’ offering(boasting) hundreds of channels from around the world. Its true that only those channels available natively are available on Zattoo which is otherwise the (other) only drawback

    • Bill Goldberg
    • November 13th, 2008

    I don’t know if they are going to release a new version any time soon (it seems likely), but you could try Livestation as an alternative.

    Also, if you lost sound you could try and switch to ALSA or OSS and see if you have more luck with those than with PulseAudio (see system, preferences, sound).

    • Conrad
    • November 13th, 2008

    Thanks…
    Sound is already on ALSA
    but hadn’t heard of Livestation. Went to their site but when i click on the Penguin instead of downloading i get a really long script… but hadn’t heard of that one and will look more into that as an alternative – thanks again.

  4. Being in Israel, it won’t let me download it, and asks to join the waitlist.
    no Hulu here either.

    I guess I’ll have to stick with LiveStation. sigh.

    International broadcast rights suck.

    • sam
    • March 31st, 2009

    anonymous proxies sometimes let you download or tor / vidalia

    • jesus
    • October 7th, 2009

    Zatto no Linux = Zatto sucks

    • caglar
    • February 11th, 2010

    This is crap.All this crap livestream applications including Livestation and zattoo uses flash player😦 (Flash apps. totally suck my CPU).I’m on Ubuntu 9.10 karmic koala.Anyway I guess, I m gonna to find another solution.Any suggestions ?

    By the way , Turkey cannot use this service too.

  1. November 10th, 2008
    Trackback from : LegionTech.net » Zattoo

Leave a Reply

