New vlc player (0.9.2)

Vlc is consider the best all-round video player on all platforms.

The new version brings a lot of improvements (see here).

The new player is QT4, so that is good news for the KDE4 crowd. I still prefer Gtk, because it integrates better in the Gnome DE, but that’s just the way it is.

Theoretically it will not make the Ubuntu Intrepid Ibex repositories, but there is talk of making an exception for this popular piece of software.

I didn’t find the new Linux version on the official site yet, but it seems there is a repo available from where you can find it.

The first thing to do is removing the old vlc player.

Open up a terminal (if you prefer a GUI, use synaptic for this task) and copy/paste this:

sudo apt-get remove vlc

Then navigate to “system -> administration -> software sources -> third party software” and press the “add” button.

Enter this

deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/c-korn/ubuntu hardy main

Close it and when the prompt comes, reload.

Then a simple

sudo apt-get install vlc

should do the trick.

(having “blue issues?” or “a green bar”? Check bottom of page.)

Some screenshots.

As you see it seems to be using my gtk theme. So that is good.
Edit: It doesn’t use my gtk theme. Those just look alike. On my other computer it clearly isn’t.
Shakes fist into the air!

To bad the icons don’t match my own icon theme.

The preferences interface has improved a lot.

Finally some fullscreen controls.
(the panel on the top isn’t there normally, my bad :p)

As always it is a good idea to change the video output to “X11 video output”.

I didn’t do this at first and got blueish things everywhere in vlc.

I also change the interface options to “native”. This didn’t actually change anything, but this could also be the thing that solved the blueish things.

After doing those restart vlc.

    • amine
    • September 18th, 2008

    thanx for the post. I installed the new version …everything was ok except for the sound which disappeared completely!!!!

    • linuxowns
    • September 18th, 2008

    Mmm.

    I am using Alsa, but I noticed that after I installed it, I got an update through the update manager for something about vlc and pulseaudio.

    So I would say, try using Alsa, or try to get that update and see if it fixes anything.

    If you don’t know how to switch from PulseAudio to Alsa, use the search function on this website.

  1. If I recall correctly, you can also specify the audio output in vlc. Set it to alsa.

    • Morfmor
    • September 21st, 2008

    Will “deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/c-korn/ubuntu hardy main” work in gutsy also?

    • linuxowns
    • September 21st, 2008

    It could be but I can’t really recommend it.

    Try to see if there is a gutsy repo.

    Change “hardy” in “gutsy” in the line and see if works.

    • Morfmor
    • September 21st, 2008

    Tried it, but ended up with som error messages. Better wait until I get Hardy or Intrepid….

    • Stefan
    • February 15th, 2010

    Nice post

    Here are old versions of vlc media player : http://www.downloadoldversion.com/vlc-media-player.html

    I hope it helps.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

