Forget firestarter

Firestarter is pretty well know as a way to set up your iptables (firewall), but the general consensus now is that ufw (uncomplicated firewall) is better (don’t ask me why :p ).

Ufw needs to be configured using the cli (check man page) but some kind soul made a good GUI for it.

Download it here:

http://gufw.tuxfamily.org/index.html

I’m using it myself and see why people prefer it to firestarter.

Before someone asks, once configured it will stay that way, so you don’t need to be running gufw on your desktop all the time!

  1. My experience with ufw is that, when you enable it, it will not be enabled on startup and the rules created with ufw are not loaded on startup leaving you with the default configuration of iptables. I have to import the rules on startup through /etc/rc.local. I’ve seen people experiencing the same thing on the ubuntu forums. How about you?

    That being said, gufw is a very promising application but still lacking a few features. Luckily ufw is so easy you dont’ really need a gui.

    • linuxowns
    • September 11th, 2008

    If used gufw to set my rules and ufw starts by itself on boot up without me having to do anything.

    I thought this would be the same for everyone

    I’m guessing that if you add gufw to sessions it would load up the correct rules on boot.

    • Vadi
    • September 13th, 2008

    You shouldn’t need to start Gufw to get ufw working – think of Gufw as a preferences dialog. Changes are in effect even after you closed it.

    Give the latest version (0.20.0) a try, maybe that’ll help?

    • linuxowns
    • September 13th, 2008

    I know.

    But some people seem to have issues with ufw not starting.

    So I presume that if you start gufw on boot, that should start ufw.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

