New “try Ubuntu” page

I was never really happy with that page, so I just re-did it.

I would be great if some of you could provide some feedback.

(comment on this post)

  1. I haven’t read it all, but looks great. Maybe you should make a simple image that displays in a simple way why you should get Ubuntu.

    If I was a newcomer, I wouldn’t take the time to read all of it. Therefore an image would be fine to quickly show me what Ubuntu is and then I would continue reading.

    • linuxowns
    • August 8th, 2008

    Sounds like a good idea.

    I’ll get working on it this weekend.

    I will need to improve my gimp skills a bit before doing it though.

  2. A table of content would give a better overview. Also a common typo: ‘Nvidea’ should be ‘Nvidia’.

    The article is, to me as ubuntu user, a pretty correct view on ubuntu. You mention the disadvantages as well in an honest way.

    • linuxowns
    • August 8th, 2008

    I’ll add a table of content next thing tomorrow.

    I’ll fix the typo also.

    I tried to be honest on what to expect when using/trying Ubuntu.

    Ubuntu is perfect for my needs, but it might not be for everyone.

    That being said, I do believe the majority of computer users would be better off on Ubuntu.

  3. After “There are many more uses for Ubuntu” you indicated that “The best way to figure it out is by trying it in an virtual machine (Virtualbox, Vmware Server, …) or by trying the live CD”. That’s probably true, but you might also mention Wubi in that section.
    You do mention Wubi later, but you never really emphasis it as a good way for Windows users to become familiar with Ubuntu. (Of course, maybe you don’t consider Wubi a good method of introduction… I’m not real familiar with it myself, but it sounds like a really easy way to learn about Ubuntu.)

  4. Oh, and I don’t really agree with the part about gaming. I would hardly call the wine-compatible and open-source games available for Linux “slim pickings”.

    Check out WineHQs Application list, for instance:
    http://appdb.winehq.org/
    and this top 25 list:
    http://whdb.com/2008/top-25-linux-games-for-2008/).

    You might revise that to read something like “There are tons of cool games you can play in Ubuntu, but if you want to be able to play /every/ Windows game available the moment it comes off the shelf, then Ubuntu is not for you.”

    • linuxowns
    • August 10th, 2008

    I would mention Wubi a bit more, but I never used it before.

    I heard some people had problems with it.

    I also heard that Ubuntu, under Wubi, doesn’t run as good as when you run it natively.

    That being said, I’m always open to suggestions and will most likely update the article somewhere today and mention it a bit more.

    • linuxowns
    • August 12th, 2008

    Sorry but I can’t agree with the gaming part.

    The open source games just don’t cut it compared to their commercial counterparts.

    There are some commercial games available for linux, but mostly older games.

    Running games on Wine requires to do quite some hacks most of the time to get a half working game.

    Even the platinum games don’t work 100%

    Sorry but I believe that I was correct in saying gaming on linux is “slim pickings” compared to Windows.

    • Bralymnnoiseasmals
    • December 31st, 2008

    dgcncjfqoahjnsqowell, hi admin adn people nice forum indeed. how’s life? hope it’s introduce branch😉

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

