Update compiz fusion

The Compiz Fusion version in the Ubuntu repositories is a bit outdated.

Updating it however shouldn’t take more than a minute.

You can install the newest version on Ubuntu by going to “synaptic package manager”, go to settings -> repositories. In the “third party software” tab press “add” and copy/paste this line;

deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/compiz/ubuntu hardy main

Then press the reload button in synaptic.

The update manager should inform you that updates are available for compiz fusion.

Install them and you’ll be using the latest version.

Some of the new effects in this new version.

Note: This version isn’t stable yet, so don’t use it on production machines.

  1. I’m updating it right now. I really wonder what kind of updates it contains. Hope it does not crash.

    • riley
    • July 12th, 2008

    Sweet, nice howto.

  2. Well, I installed Compiz Fusion just as you said, and I still don’t have the ability to use different wallpapers… waaaaah.

    • James R
    • January 17th, 2009

    Can’t seem to configure it….help please…!

    • waydaws
    • January 23rd, 2009

    I found that after you do that (setup multiple backgrounds in cccm), you also need to use gconf editor (Applications > System Tools > Configuration Editor) to disable background display in nautilus.
    I.E. you navigate to /apps/nautilus/preferences and uncheck show_desktops.
    So I do get four different desktops displayed, but the icons on the desktop no longer show up. I some times copy documents to my desktop while I’m working on then and move them off later. So, for me, I can’t use this.
    I googled about this, and it’s a known problem, at least for hardy. YMMV.
    I can’t use it, but if you don’t care about seeing desktop icons, then this does work.

  1. August 9th, 2008

Leave a Reply

