Linux Mint 5 Elyssa

Linux mint is an Linux distro based on and fully compatible with Ubuntu.

Linux Mint is more oriented towards new users or users who just want to keep things easy.

Some media codecs are already installed by default, a different “start” menu, nicer looking art work, those are just some of the “advantages” Mint has over the standard Ubuntu distro.

Now don’t get me wrong, I won’t be using this one.

I like to customize stuff myself, but if you are looking to hook someone up with a Linux distro and you could not help them set it up, I would suggest this one.

Read more about the Elyssa distro here.

  1. I think the word you’re looking for is “oriented”, I’m not sure if “orientated” is a real word😉

    I’m always wary about distributions like this. They claim to be that much easier/less confusing than other Linuxes, and while they do handle a lot of the boiler-plate stuff better (configuration details, hardware detection, software installation) they are still rather confusing to new users. Version numbers everywhere, cryptic package names, dependencies, repositories, etc. All these things I think are still confusing to non-geeks. A girl I know (non-geek) who uses Ubuntu likes it, but when it comes to changing anything about the system besides a basic software install, I need to go over and do everything.

    Linux Mint seems to be going down the same path. It does seem to fix some of the annoying aspects of Ubuntu (no media codecs installed, it’s butt-ugly) but even from the screenshots I don’t think it addresses the issues that make Linux confusing.

    • Daniel
    • June 15th, 2008

    I’ve been using Elyssa for about a month and I rather like it. I switched from Xubuntu Hardy. It was nice not to go for a search to install codecs and crap. It’s also pretty. I don’t knjow why the poster thinks it’s not customizeable, it’s Gnome and based on Ubuntu so it’s at least as customizeable as Ubuntu. I would definitely recommend it to newer linux users over Ubuntu.

    • linuxowns
    • June 16th, 2008

    I didn’t imply that Linux Mint isn’t customizable.

    I meant that it already looks nice, which is not the case with Ubuntu imho.

    • Bavarian
    • July 3rd, 2008

    Can i try Linux Mint with Wubi?

  1. June 9th, 2008
    Trackback from : Linux Mint 5 Elyssa

Leave a Reply

