Did todays kernel update break something?

It did for me.

The upgrade to linux 2.6.24-18-generic kernel broke my internet.

Network manager was unable to find any device to connect to the internet.

It’s bug #237335 for ubuntu.

If something like this were to happen for you, simply pick the previous kernel in the grub.

And all should be good.

The bug you are having could be fixed soon and then you could use the newest kernel.

  1. Things seem to be working fine for me, although I’m posting this from an Ubuntu virtual machine at work so that might change things. I can’t remember if I rebooted my machine last night after the update.

    • linuxowns
    • June 4th, 2008

    I’m sure only a small minority will have problems with the new kernel.

    • RyanT
    • June 4th, 2008

    The only thing holding me back from newer kernels is that me broadcom card doesn’t work in them. I wish they could get the 2.6.25 kernel in there, if only for that (the installable drivers from the Linux wireless site don’t for me).

    • Vadim P.
    • June 6th, 2008

    My VirtualBox vm machine is refusing to start now…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

