Hardy sound problems 2

Another easy to to trick if you are having audio troubles.

Navigate to “system -> preferences -> sound”.

In the drop down menu’s try “ALSA” and then press the “test” button.

It that doesn’t work, try the others.

Do that for all the boxes and everything should be fine on the audio front.

  1. tanks for this

    • Rick
    • May 20th, 2008

    This does not reliably solve the problem. Apparently there is an issue with Flash audio:

    https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/pulseaudio/+bug/183917

    I solved it (temporarily?) by inactivating my onboard sound, putting in an older sound card, and setting PulseAudio as default in System->Preferences->Sound, after verifying a tone with the test buttons.

    Good luck!

    • linuxowns
    • May 20th, 2008

    There is an issue with pulseaudio and flash.

    I suggest to swith to ALSA instead of using PulseAudio.

    This is a reliable “trick” to solve that problem.

    I guess you mean installing “libflashsupport” isn’t reliable because it can cause an unstable flash/firefox.

    • xubuntu newbie
    • May 27th, 2008

    I have xubuntu and am having sound problems. Would like to follow instructions here but don’t see “preferences” under the system menu. Suggestions?

    • linuxowns
    • May 31st, 2008

    Sorry, it’s been ages since I used xubuntu.

    Post you question in the ubuntu forums, people will be happy to help.

    • Denis Heidtmann
    • June 22nd, 2008

    What does “navigate to “system->…” mean? I am using kubuntu 8.04. I have a “system settings” which has an entry for sound, but nothing like what you show.

    denis

    • linuxowns
    • June 26th, 2008

    These instructions are for the gnome edition of ubuntu.

    I don’t use kde so I can’t help you.

  2. I was unable to play mp3s in rhythmbox/totem/etc if I had played one in Firefox and the browser was still open. This solved my issue. Thanks!

    • Steven
    • October 5th, 2008

    I had the same issue with firefox 3.03, none of the standard fixes worked. This fixed it with me

    I went to synaptic and installed

    libflashsupport – Support library for sound output of Flash 9+ with PulseAudio

  1. October 5th, 2008
    Trackback from : Linux Owns

Leave a Reply

