Using a different file system

If you install ubuntu on your system it uses the ext3 filesystem.

There are other file systems available for linux, and I’m going to install Hardy on the reiserfs file system later today.

It should be faster than ext3.

Using the reiserfs file system is as easy as selecting it instead of ext3 when you manualy select wich partition to install ubuntu on.

I’ve been using it now for a few hours and my computer is faster than ever. But that could just be because hardy is faster than gutsy.

Anyhow, I just moved 10gb of data and everything went fast and without any problems.

So is it faster?

To soon to tell, I’ll update this post in a few weeks, when I’ve tested it a bit better.

  1. I’ve been using ReiserFS instead of EXT for years now. With Hardy, I allowed a fresh install on an EXT3 partition and everything was going great for a while (this was from one of the late alphas). I had a problem with x.org locking up my computer hard and the reisub shutdown wouldn’t even work, so it was the reset button every time. After a few of these kinds of reboot, my system became unbootable. It looked like I had problems with the hard drive. The problem, though, is that the root partition had gotten some corruptions due to this reboot and I had to do a manual fsck from a live cd to clear the problem. That was time consuming and , in my opinion, unnecessary extra work. The problem persisted, so I made a decision to reformat that partition and reinstall the root filesystem on ReiserFS and all’s been well since (months of abuse and it still boots fine). The video bug went away, but there are a few games that my son insists on playing until it locks up the machine and ReiserFS has come through for me. Now if Reiser4 was only as stable! Its even faster!(I’ve used it on a Gentoo install for about 6 months a while back.)

    Keep up this great writing!

    • vunknown
    • May 4th, 2008

    I have install many linux distribution i used only ext3 file system, i don’t know there are ReiserFS that faster.

    Thank you for your experience that shared to another, waiting for new topic.

    • nitwit88
    • June 15th, 2008

    I’ve been delaying installing hardy for two months now waiting for the follow-up to this article. When’s it coming?

  2. Heya this is somewhat of off topic but I was wanting to know
    if blogs use WYSIWYG editors or if you have to manually code with HTML.
    I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding knowledge so I wanted to get guidance
    from someone with experience. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

