Real Player 11

Real Player 11 is out and this time it’s pretty easy to install it on linux.

Although a bit useless, you do come across the rare rmvb file every now and then and it can play windows media files.

First you’ll need to download the .bin file here.

(rpm files are available, but ubuntu users can’t use those)

After you downloaded it, right-click the file and press “properties”.

Go to the “permissions” tab and choose “allow executing file as program”.

You’ll noticed it created a folder. Double click the “realplay” file in that folder (called realplayer).

When the prompt comes, just press “run”.

You’ll have to press next a few times (windows flashback :p ) and it’s installed.

You’ll want to move that “realplayer” folder somewhere in your /home folder. If you delete it, real player won’t work.

The program now be accessed in the “sound & video” section of the “applications” menu.

If it isn’t there for some reason, you can add it to the “sound & video” section by linking it to the “realplay” file in the “realplayer” folder (or just double click that file to launch the player).

Edit on 31/05/08:

I forgot to mention that real player screws up your icons. For one it will change all your mp3 icons to real player icons.

A solution can be found here. In that thread they give 2 options, either replace the icons manually  or use a script provided to remove all real players icons (completely removing real player should also do the trick :p ).

This is yet another reason to avoid real player and see if other media players play the real player format.

  1. testtttt

  2. I remember struggling to remove RealPlayer from Windows several years ago. Haven’t touched it since.

    Good to know they’ve made it easier for us Linux folk though 🙂

  3. Thanks for that. I run Ubuntu and had an older version and it worked just like you said it would. That should not be remarkable – but in my experience of trying to do things that do not come with the Update Manager has been – erm – variable.

    I am now going to add you to both my favourites and my blogroll

    • juanfgs
    • April 17th, 2008

    Hi, I installed Fedora 8 a few weeks ago and noticed that the latest version of Totem can play .rm files if you install the propietary w32codecs http://www.mplayerhq.hu/MPlayer/releases/codecs/ (I’m not pretty sure, but it worked for my system) and the Gstreamer “Ugly” set of plugins. I’m just telling you this because some people may prefer Totem’s interface instead of RP.

    Your blog looks great, I’m bookmarking this :D.

    • linuxowns
    • April 17th, 2008

    Thanks juanfgs for mentioning it.

    It didn’t knew that because well, I haven’t used that file type in ages.

    • 1badmojo
    • July 15th, 2008

    hey just wondering… tried RP and couldnt load streaming media of net ?? ne tricks or tips?

    • linuxowns
    • July 15th, 2008

    Try this link and install everything:

    Install audio and video codecs in ubuntu

    Most things should stream from the net (I only sometimes have problems with .mov not being served properly).

    • Guru
    • April 7th, 2009

    .deb package is also available in the real website. can we download the .deb and install in the ubuntu? will that work perfectly or .bin will work perfectly.

    we can install .rpm in ubuntu using alien program

  4. Down here in SA internet is still expensive so I use my phone for dial-up and can install quiet a few things for Ubuntu over the net.

    I updated to 9.04 from 8.10 and did not use the update manager so I formatted the old OS to jaunty now I do not have sound and video codecs is it possible to download them @ school so that I just drag and drop them into the folder that pops up when I open the media players like mplayer.

    Thank!

  1. June 23rd, 2008

Leave a comment