Linux file system

Most people coming from windows have a hard time understanding the linux file structure.

They are use to  locations that start with letters.

Linux file structures don’t work like that and that can be confusing.

This is a simplified picture of the linux filesystem.

So following this picture your photos are located here: /home/username/photos

It’s been a long time since I used windows but in windows that would be something like this:

c:\documents and settings\username\my pictures

A nice guide for newcomers on the linux file system can be found here.

Once you get used to the structure, you’ll find that it’s better and more easy to use.

    • abutua
    • March 27th, 2008

    As for windoze, it’s usually C:\Documents and Settings\username\My Documents\My Pictures

    I don’t see why that “My Documents” should be there, because audio and video files are also stored in it.

    • analogtek
    • March 27th, 2008

    After using linux for for 4 year’s now..Windows seem just to ridged and inpersonal.. Home is such a nicer place to be.. There is no place like home..there is no place like home!!

    • Jamfish
    • March 27th, 2008

    Fortunately windoze has improved this in Vista; now it’s C:\users\username\Photos or ..\Video or ..\Documents.

    Makes MUCH more sense, but I still like my linux 🙂

    • whinrei
    • March 27th, 2008

    weeee… nice!

    • kebumen
    • March 27th, 2008

    sexy..

    • linuxowns
    • March 27th, 2008

    I only used vista for a few days, so I didn’t noticed they changed it. Oh well, I like /home better.

    And I find / easier to type than \, but that might be my azerty keyboard layout.

    • Vadim P.
    • April 3rd, 2008

    All I know is that /home/$USER is mine, and Ubuntu gets the rest 😀

    • linuxowns
    • April 4th, 2008

    :p

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

