Don’t upgrade to hardy yet!

If you are thinking about upgrading (don’t ‘alt+f2’ and then gksudo “update-manager -d” ) well don’t do it yet.

I did last night, besides it having to download about 1gb and taking about an hour to run it’s installer, it can break you desktop.

I couldn’t get the gnome daemon to work, and x would fail allot.

It’s only a few more weeks till the final (read stable) version comes out.

Just a heads up.

  1. I upgraded to hardy back at Alpha 4 on my laptop, and have encountered only very insignificant problems:
    – wifi didn’t work at first, one command fixed it
    – boot takes longer than usual because it gets stuck for about 20 sec on “loading hardware drivers”

    Perfectly stable otherwise. I guess it depends on the hardware.

    • pali
    • March 20th, 2008

    Same here there were problem with my connection adsl over wifi but after that it was smooth sailing and to tell u the truth it was worth it
    (number of small changes dose make a big impact)

    • linuxowns
    • March 21st, 2008

    It might work for some people without any real problems.

    I know that, I had some problems and am letting people know it.

    • river
    • March 22nd, 2008

    Thanks, I tried upgrading to gusty a while back and was very disappointed. Couldn’t access the internet and lost all of my files on two computers. In the end I reinstalled 7.04 Feisty Fawn. All along I hear this ringing in my head that says “if its not broken, don’t fix it”.

  2. Yeah, you’re right; you shouldn’t upgrade to Hardy just yet. I did on my desktop and I had a hell of a time trying to get some Windows wireless cards to work through Ndiswrapper. I guess I’m leaving it until they release it in April.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

