Make a custom login screen

There are alot of login screen you can download @ http://www.gnome-look.org , but what if you want your own picture?

A login screen in ubuntu is called a gdm theme. So the first thing you would do is go to http://www.gnome-look.org and browse to the gdm-theme section. Then you download a layout you want. Don’t mind the background pictures, look for the placement of the buttons, the location of the session, …

Download a theme wich layout you like and untar it.

I used this theme.

extract.png

Open the created folder and look for the background picture. Open that using the gimp.

open.png

In the gimp, go to “image -> scale image” and take a look at it’s size.

scale.png

Look for the picture you want and scale it to the same size.

Save it as the exact same name as the picture in the folder is called. (here it’s called background.jpg).

save.png

In the created folder, remove the original picture and replace it with yours.

almost-done.png

Almost done. Right-click the folder and tar it.

archive.png

Note: the preview picture will look the same as the original one you downloaded. You could change that by removing it from the folder and putting the background picture you created in it’s place (same filename and extention). I’ll skip this part as it doesn’t matter for me.

Now add it as you normally would add a gdm theme. Go to “system -> administration -> login window”. Go to the “local” tab and drag your .tar.gz file to there, press install. Then select it from the list.

install.png

choose-it.png

(my preview picture is still that of the original, if you changed yours, you picture would be there).

Done.

Next time you’ll log out, you will see your new login-screen.

    • voltonumsegundo
    • November 23rd, 2008

    Thanks for your post. I’d been struggling with the creation of a graphical login screen for a while but hadn’t thought of picking up an existing one and modifying it. After solving initial issues with the XML I got my own login screen up and running. That is the power of free software🙂.

    • Evan
    • January 8th, 2009

    Wow. So simple. Very cool.
    Thanks for a great How-To.

  1. this is right thing but this is not preferable to the tenth version of ubuntu and make sure it…

  2. Hello! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be ok. I’m undoubtedly enjoying your blog and look forward
    to new posts.

  3. I read this post completely on the topic of the comparison of most up-to-date and
    previous technologies, it’s awesome article.

  4. {
    {I have|I’ve} been {surfing|browsing} online more than {three|3|2|4} hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. {It’s|It is}
    pretty worth enough for me. {In my opinion|Personally|In my view}, if all {webmasters|site owners|websi

  5. My coder is trying to convince me to move to .
    net from PHP. I have always disliked the idea because of the
    expenses. But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been using WordPress on several websites for about a year and am nervous about switching to another platform.
    I have heard fantastic things about blogengine.net. Is there a way I can
    transfer all my wordpress posts into it? Any kind of help would be
    really appreciated!

  6. Great post.

  7. Hi there terrific blog! Does running a blog such as this take a large amount of work?
    I’ve virtually no expertise in programming but I was hoping to start my own blog soon. Anyways, should you have any ideas or tips for new blog owners please share. I know this is off topic but I just had to ask. Thank you!

  8. Somebody necessarily lend a hand to make severely articles
    I might state. This is the very first time I frequented your web page and to this point?

    I surprised with the research you made to make this actual submit amazing.
    Fantastic job!

  9. What i don’t understood is actually how you are now not actually a lot more smartly-preferred than you may be right now. You are so intelligent. You already know thus significantly in relation to this topic, produced me in my opinion believe it from a lot of numerous angles. Its like women and men aren’t fascinated unless
    it is something to accomplish with Lady gaga!
    Your personal stuffs great. At all times deal with it up!

  10. Nice post. I was checking constantly this blog and I’m impressed! Extremely useful info particularly the closing part🙂 I maintain such info much. I used to be looking for this particular information for a long time. Thanks and best of luck.

  11. I am really grateful to the holder of this website
    who has shared this fantastic post at here.

  12. Link exchange is nothing else however it is only placing the
    other person’s web site link on your page at appropriate place and other person will also
    do similar in favor of you.

  13. Hi! I’ve been following your site for a while now and finally got the bravery to go ahead and give you a shout out from Huffman Texas! Just wanted to tell you keep up the great job!

    • WF
    • September 24th, 2014

    The other day, while I was at work, my cousin stole my apple ipad and tested to see if it can survive a 25 foot drop, just so she can be a youtube sensation. My iPad is now broken and she has 83 views. I know this is entirely off topic but I had to share it with someone!

    • CG
    • September 26th, 2014

    Please let me know if you’re looking for a article author for your blog. You have some really good articles and I feel I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d really like to write some material for your blog in exchange for a link back to mine. Please send me an e-mail if interested. Cheers!

  14. The other day, while I was at work, my cousin stole my apple ipad and tested to see if it can survive a thirty foot drop, just so she can be a youtube sensation. My iPad is now destroyed and she has 83 views.
    I know this is entirely off topic but I had to share it with someone!

  15. We absolutely love your blog and find most of your post’s to be what precisely I’m
    looking for. Does one offer guest writers to write content available for you?
    I wouldn’t mind writing a post or elaborating on some of
    the subjects you write related to here. Again, awesome web site!

  16. It’s actually almost not possible to see well-qualified people on this industry, however , you come across as like you have a understanding of what you’re composing on! Gratitude

  17. May Not long ago i say what a relief to uncover somebody who trulyknows what they’re referring to on the web.You definitely know how to have a issue to mild andmake it important. More and more and more people need tolook at this and see why part of your tale.It’s surprising you are not extremely well-known because you certainlypossess the present.

  18. Hoverboard Technologies was set up by business owner Robert Bigler and his Hoverboard is the very first device to be revealed by the firm.

  19. Items you buy will last longer compared to coupons.

  20. Hi i would like to give a powerful manages and let you know a few of the images aren’t operating effectively. I’m not sure why but I think its a linking issue. I’ve tried it in two different web browsers and both display the same result.

  21. It is really a great and helpful piece of information. I’m satisfied that you simply shared this useful info with us. Please stay us up to date like this. Thanks for sharing.

  22. Hi there, I do believe your site could be having internet browser compatibility issues. When I take a look at your web site in Safari, it looks fine but when opening in I.E., it’s got some overlapping issues. I merely wanted to provide you with a quick heads up! Aside from that, excellent site!

  23. you are truly a excellent webmaster. The website loading speed is incredible. It kind of feels that you’re doing any distinctive trick. Also, The contents are masterwork. you have done a magnificent process on this topic!

  1. June 23rd, 2008

Leave a Reply

