GCstar

Cstar is a free open source application for managing your collections. Detailed information on each item can be automatically retrieved from the internet and you can store additional data, such as the location or who you’ve lent it to. You may also search and filter your collection by many criteria. 

haihia.png

I have about 100 movie dvd’s and I like to back those up to my hard drive.

I just saved those .iso’s to the video folder and when I feel the need to watch them I just looked for it in the folder and played them.

I have my pc hooked up to my tv so every now and then I watch those movies with some friends.

When you just have a load of .iso it’s quite hard to pick a movie just by it’s title (not for me, but for my friends).

So as any good linux user would do, I open up the “add/remove” window in ubuntu and started scrolling through the “sound and video” section.

And as most people know, they repo’s have everything about everything.

GCstar is what they call a “personal collections manager”.

You start by downloading it from “add/remove” (applications ->) or “synaptic package manager” (system -> administration).

Then you navigate to “applications -> sound and video” and open up GCstar.

Let’s take a closer look at the program.

(note: press the pictures to see the actual file size)

At the first start you get a windows asking you what sort of collection you want to catalog.

screenshot-select-a-collection-type.png

I need to catalog my movie collection, so as logic dictates, I picked “movies collection”.

You press add and then you get this screen.

gcs.png

You enter the movies name and press “fetch information”.

You’ll get a pop-up asking from what site you want to fetch the information.

screenshot-search-an-item.png

I would suggest using imdb and ticking to box “use selected site for future searches”.

In most cases you’ll get a window asking you to pick the movie you want.

screenshot-select-an-item-imdb.png

I picked the first one (the one I need).

Then all the info of about that movie will be downloaded.

lion.png

In the “details”  tab you can enter the details (duh!).

You can add the the path to the movie file, rating, sort of video file, …

lion2.png

There is also a “lending” tab in case you lend out a dvd to keep track of it.

You’ll have the options to send a mail, keep track of the date, …

You can sort movies by using there movie pictures, by genre or just by there name.

In the preferences box (settings ->preferences) you choose what browser to open the pages up, what video player to use, what audio player to use. You can set the amount of colums for the pictures, you can change the background, …

lion3.png

lion4.png

Some screenshots after you are finished.

gcstar.png

gcs2.png

gcs3.png

I prefer the use the poster look. Why? Because the eye also wants something.

In case you missed the link to the official site, here is it again:

http://www.gcstar.org/index.en.php  

This program is also available for windows (using gtk2-perl), freebsd and mac osx (using the x11 enviroment).

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers

